MLA from Thiruvalla in Kerala

mla from thiruvalla in Kerala

Thiruvalla Legislative Assembly Constituency– An Overview

Thiruvalla Legislative Assembly Constituency (Thiruvalla Vidhan Sabha) is one of the 7 assembly constituencies that come under the Pathanamthitta parliamentary constituency.

The Pathanamthitta parliamentary constituency is one of the 20 parliamentary constituencies that represent Kerala state in the Lok Sabha (House of the People)- Lower House of Indian Parliament.

Thiruvalla is one of the 6 Taluks of Pathanamthitta District in Kerala. The Thiruvalla Legislative Assembly Constituency covers Thiruvalla Municipality & Anicadu, Kallooppara, Mallappally, Puramattom, Kunnamthanam Panchayats from Mallappally Taluk and Kadapra, Kaviyoor, Kuttoor, Nedumpuram, Niranam, Peringara Panchayats from Thiruvalla Taluk.

G Padmanabhan Thampi

G Padmanabhan Thampi mla from thiruvalla

He was the first MLA from Thiruvalla Assembly Constituency in the First Kerala Legislative Assembly between 1957 and 1959 from the undivided Communist Party of India.

G Padmanabhan Thampi was born in 1929 as the son of Kerala Varma Raja.

He was an Advocate and actively participated in many political & student movements and municipal & trade union activities.

P Chacko

P Chacko mla from thiruvalla

P Chacko was born in February 1914, he was the second MLA representing Thiruvalla Assembly Constituency from Indian National Congress between 1960 and 1964 in the Kerala Legislative Assembly.

He was also served as a member of the Travancore Legislative Assembly from 1948 to 1949 and Travancore Cochin Legislative Assembly from 1952 to 1954.

P Chacko was a teacher and also served on various positions, for example, Chairman of Committee on Petitions between 1960-61, Founder of Backward Class Christian Federation & Akhila Thiruvithamkoor Christian Cheramar Mahajana Sanghom.

E John Jacob

E John Jacob mla from thiruvalla

E John Jacob represented Thiruvalla Constituency in the Third (1967-1970), Fourth (1970- 1977), and Fifth (1977-1979) Kerala Legislative Assembly.

He was born on 23 August 1913 as the son of E Jacob John.

E John Jacob was a 1st class certificate holder from IMMTS Dufferin, now referred to as Indian Maritime University.

As Food and Civil Supplies Minister E John Jacob served from 11th April 1977 to 25th April 1977 and from 27th April 1977 to 26th September 1978.

He served in the Merchant Navy as an Officer from 1927 to 1940, and as a commissioned officer in the Indian Army between 1942 and 1944.

E John Jacob had given outstanding services on various positions including as President of Kuttanadu Karshaka Sangham, as a Chairman between 1976 and 1977 and Vice Chairman in 1975 of Kerala Congress, President of Akhila Kerala Karshaka Federation between 1965-70.

He passed away on 26th September 1978 serving as Minister.

P C Thomas

P C Thomas mla from thiruvalla

P C Thomas born to P C Chacko on 2nd November 1918. An Arts graduate P C Thomas served as the Member of Legislative Assembly from Thiruvalla in Fifth (1977-1979), Sixth (1980-1982), and Seventh (1982-1987) Kerala Legislative Assembly.

He was elected for the first time on 18th May 1979 in bye-election.

P C Thomas was the President of Kuttapuzha Panchayat, Land Mortgage Bank, and Lions Club- Thiruvalla, also served as Vice President of YMCA- Thiruvalla.

Advocate Mammen Mathai

Advocate Mammen Mathai mla from thiruvalla

Advocate Mammen Mathai served as the MLA of Thiruvalla Constituency in the 9th (1991-1996), 10th  (1996-2001), and 11th  (2001-2006) Kerala Legislative Assembly from Kerala Congress (M) party.

law graduate and son of M. P. Mathai and Thankamma Mathai, Mammen Mathai was born on 5th September 1951.

He was the Chairman of Committee on Petitions between 2001-03, a Senate Member of CUSAT,  President of Peringara Grama Panchayat, Peringara Service Co-operative Bank, Kerala Congress (M)– Pathanamthitta District, Vice President of  Primary Land Mortgage Bank- Thiruvalla.

He passed away on 23rd September 2003 serving as an MLA.

Elizabeth Mammen Mathai

Elizabeth Mammen Mathai mla from thiruvalla

Advocate Elizabeth Mammen Mathai was elected to the 11th Kerala Legislative Assembly from Thiruvalla Constituency in a bye-election conducted in December 2003 as Kerala Congress (M) candidate due to the sudden death of her husband and then MLA Advocate Mammen Mathai.

An LLB Graduate Elizabeth Mammen Mathai was the Member of Peringara Grama Panchayat.

Advocate Mathew T Thomas

Advocate Mathew T Thomas mla from thiruvalla

Advocate Mathew T Thomas is the sitting MLA of Thiruvalla Constituency from JD (S) party since 2016 in the 14th Kerala Legislative Assembly.

He is also served as a Member of Legislative Assembly in 8th between 1987-1991, 12th between 2006-2011 and 13th between 2011-2016 Kerala Legislative Assembly.

Advocate Mathew T Thomas is born on September 27th, 1961 in Thiruvalla and completed B.Sc. from Marthoma College, Thiruvalla & LLB from Government Law College, Thiruvananthapuram, the University of Kerala in 1992.

He has served in the Kerala Vidyarthi Janatha (KVJ) as a Member, Unit Secretary, Taluk Secretary, District President, State Secretary and State President between 1985-88.

Mathew T Thomas was the Minister for Transport for 3 years and Minister for Water Resources for 2 years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here